Compare four barista-training routes
Choose a practical workshop for guided beginner training, an online course for flexible theory, workplace training for practice on staff equipment, or the City & Guilds route when an assessed qualification matters.[1][3][5][6]

London School of Coffee — Barista Beginner Masterclass
- Format and practice: A practical-focused day in Wandsworth from 9:30 to 15:30, with morning theory and afternoon work on espresso equipment, grinders, milk texturing and drink preparation.[1]
- Credential: The cited course page does not state whether learners receive a certificate or undergo an external assessment.[1]
- Suited to: Beginners, home enthusiasts, prospective baristas or café owners, staff training and people refreshing existing skills.[1]
Virtual College — Online Barista Course
- Format and practice: Entirely online, with no supervised machine time; learners may practise at home using their own equipment.[3]
- Credential: A downloadable, self-printed completion certificate awarded after four modules, section quizzes and a final 20-question assessment.[3]
- Suited to: Learners wanting flexible theory study; there are no entry requirements.[3]
Liquidline — Professional Barista Training
- Format and practice: Four hours for up to four people, with training available on an employer’s premises and specific commercial machine.[5]
- Credential: Each attendee receives a Liquidline Barista Certificate, but the cited page does not identify an external assessment body.[5]
- Suited to: Beginners and refreshers working in catering businesses such as cafés and restaurants.[5]
City & Guilds — Level 2 Award in Barista Skills 7102-63
- Format and practice: The September 2026 handbook specifies commercial espresso equipment, a grinder, filter brewer, hot-water boiler, blender and barista tools. Confirm the centre’s actual learning setup and individual practice arrangements.[7]
- Credential: For qualification 7102-63, the September 2026 handbook specifies a knowledge test using multiple-choice questions and a practical assessment, with a pass/fail outcome.[7]
- Suited to: Learners seeking a formal assessment; no previous barista experience is required, although access to an espresso machine and grinder for practice is recommended.[6]
The cited pages for the three in-person routes do not state exact hands-on machine minutes per learner.[1][5][6]
Completion certificate or assessed qualification?
The word certificate does not establish whether a course leads to a provider’s record of completion or a formally assessed qualification.
Use the specification for the exact code being offered. The current 7102-63 handbook, version 1.0 from September 2026, identifies a multiple-choice knowledge test and practical assessment.[7] Ask the centre which assessment materials apply, how the practical assessment is arranged and whether any resit fee is separate.
Virtual College instead awards a digital completion certificate after online modules, quizzes and a final assessment. Its page describes the course as “CPD Certified” or “CPD-approved”, but the course provides no observed machine practice.[3]
Liquidline awards its own Barista Certificate on completion, with no external assessment body named on the cited page.[5] The London School of Coffee page does not confirm whether its beginner course includes a certificate.[1]
Before booking, ask:
- Who sets the assessment and owns the qualification specification?
- Who marks the work, and under whose guidance?
- Will an assessor observe practical espresso-machine skills?
- Is the document evidence of attendance, completion or an assessed qualification?
- Are registration, assessment or resit charges separate?
Check individual machine time, not course duration
A course described as practical may still divide equipment time among several learners. London School of Coffee splits its day between theory, lunch and afternoon practical work.[1] Liquidline specifies four hours for up to four people but does not state how machine access is divided.[5]
The 7102-63 handbook lists 24 guided learning hours and a total qualification time of 31 hours.[7] These are qualification planning measures, not a promise of 24 hours of individual espresso-machine practice. Ask the centre for the supervised practical timetable and equipment-sharing arrangements. Virtual College offers independent home practice rather than observed classroom machine work.[3]
Ask how many learners and working espresso machines will be in the session, how rotations are organised, how many drinks each person will prepare and how much individual correction the trainer provides.
Also ask whether demonstrations, cleaning and maintenance count towards advertised practical time. Supervised workshop practice, independent home use and training on workplace equipment should be compared separately.
Compare the full price
Advertised figures are not directly comparable: one includes VAT, another excludes it, and the City & Guilds figure is not a complete tuition price.
- London School of Coffee: £199 including VAT for the one-day Beginner Masterclass.[1]
- Virtual College: £25 plus VAT for the online course.[3]
- City & Guilds: £65 as a qualification fee, not the learner’s complete course price.[6]
City & Guilds describes £65 as the typical amount paid by a centre for a completed learner. Multiple charging points, specialisms or assessment resits may alter the amount, and VAT treatment can depend on funding and VAT status.[6] Ask the delivery centre for its complete tuition and assessment quotation.
Virtual College advertises automatic team discounts of 10% for at least 10 courses, 20% for at least 25, 30% for at least 50 and 40% for at least 100.[3] Its listed course price remains on a plus-VAT basis.
Request one written total covering tuition, VAT, registration, assessment, certificates, materials, resits, equipment, venue costs and any trainer travel.
What to confirm with each provider
- Practice: Session size, number of working machines, rotations, drinks prepared per learner and individual feedback.
- Credential: Certificate type, awarding organisation, assessment method and marker.
- Booking: Date, times, venue, prerequisites and maximum group size.
- Full cost: VAT, tuition, registration, assessment, materials, certificate delivery, resits and equipment charges.
- Expenses: Meals, travel, accommodation and trainer travel.
- Changes: Cancellation, refund, rescheduling, learner substitution and no-show rules.
London School of Coffee allows buyers to select an available date or purchase a £199 voucher usable on dates with places. Lunch is not stated as included; the page mentions nearby shops and says learners may bring food.[1]
Details still requiring a written quotation
The provider pages do not publish the following details:
- Liquidline: Price and geographic service area.[5]
- City & Guilds: Tuition charged by individual delivery centres.[6]
- Virtual College: Separate registration, exam or posted-certificate charges.[3]
- All four compared routes: Cancellation, refund, rescheduling and no-show terms.[1][3][5][6]
Make the decision without relying on job promises
City & Guilds says its qualification could help someone obtain or progress in barista work, but it does not guarantee employment.[6] Liquidline reports possible improvements in customer satisfaction, sales, revenue and coffee quality, but its page provides no independent outcome data supporting those claims.[5]
No independent completion, employment, wage or job-placement results are stated on the cited pages for the four options.[1][3][5][6] Compare them using:
- Credential: Attendance, completion or assessed qualification.
- Practice: Supervised machine access and feedback per learner.
- Price: The complete VAT-inclusive booking cost.
- Terms: The conditions applying to cancellations, changes and missed sessions.
References
- londonschoolofcoffee.com (londonschoolofcoffee.com)
- Barista Training Course Online | Virtual College (virtual-college.co.uk)
- Barista Training | Professional Coffee Course | Liquidline (liquidline.co.uk)
- Barista Skills qualifications and training courses | City & Guilds (cityandguilds.com)
- City & Guilds Level 2 Award in Barista Skills (7102-63), Qualification Handbook, Version 1.0, September 2026 (cityandguilds.com)