UK Upholstery Courses for Adults: Compare Project Fit

For a first drop-in seat or stool, Southwark gives explicit beginner guidance, while Manorhouse recommends similar starter projects; other furniture may need course-specific approval before payment.[1][6]

A close-up view of colorful grid patterned rolls of fabric at a market, showcasing texture and variety.
Advertisement

Compare named UK upholstery courses

Compare each option in the same order: accepted project, supervised format and what the course supplies. Where a cited page leaves a dimension unclear, confirm it directly.

Southwark Council

  • Approved project: Beginners are directed towards a spring-free, one-person drop-in seat, simple footstool or piano stool. The tutor must see and approve other items beforehand.[1]
  • Format and contact time: The course runs for 10 weeks. Teaching includes demonstrations, project support, one-to-one tutor discussions and group discussions.[1]
  • Tools and materials: Necessary upholstery tools and basic materials are included; learners supply their top fabric when the project reaches that stage.[1]
Advertisement

St Albans Upholstery School

  • Approved project: The cited page does not state a project-approval process, so acceptance of a proposed item needs confirmation.[2]
  • Format and contact time: The Foundation course runs for one day a week over 18 weeks. Leisure options include 18-week daytime and evening classes and a four-Saturday-morning course.[2]
  • Tools and materials: The cited page does not give a complete course-specific list of supplied tools, consumables and required purchases.[2]

Oxford School of Upholstery

  • Approved project: The cited page does not state which furniture is accepted on each course, so obtain approval before arranging transport or buying fabric.[3]
  • Format and contact time: Options include day courses, clubs, beginner-suitable week-long courses, project courses and certificated diploma courses. Attendance may be consecutive or divided into shorter blocks.[3]
  • Tools and materials: The cited page does not provide a complete inclusion list for each format.[3]

Manorhouse School of Upholstery

  • Approved project: New recreational learners are encouraged to begin with a drop-in seat, small footstool or headboard. The Advanced 12-day course covers a full armchair.[6]
  • Format and contact time: Introductory and Advanced courses run on Fridays across 12 weeks. Recreational classes are mixed ability, hands-on and limited to no more than 10 students.[6]
  • Tools and materials: The cited page does not give a complete list of what each course supplies or what each project requires.[6]

Find a Craft — Buckingham workshop

  • Approved project: Applicants must send a photograph before applying so the provider can advise how many sessions the project may need.[4]
  • Format and contact time: The number of sessions is assessed from the proposed project rather than stated as one standard duration.[4]
  • Tools and materials: The cited listing does not give a complete project-specific inclusion list.[4]

This is a comparison of published course details, not an overall provider ranking. Upholstery Skills Online is excluded because it is home-based rather than supervised classroom learning.[5]

Match the furniture to your experience

A manageable first project is course-specific. Southwark recommends a spring-free drop-in seat, simple footstool or piano stool for beginners. Improver work may include a one-person seat-and-back chair.[1] Manorhouse suggests a drop-in seat, small footstool or headboard for new recreational learners, although its wider range extends from piano stools to antique chaise longues.[6]

Southwark has a limited number of suitable chairs available for a small cost. Experienced learners must bring a pre-approved item or choose one that can be completed during the 10-week course or at home.[1]

Before booking, send photographs from several angles, the dimensions and a short description of the existing upholstery. Ask whether the item suits both the course and the learner’s experience, then obtain written approval. The Buckingham workshop makes this photograph assessment part of its application process.[4]

Check what must be brought or bought

Southwark supplies the necessary upholstery tools and includes basic materials, but learners buy their own top fabric when needed. It also asks them to bring a pen, pencil, notepad and camera or phone. Strong, thick-soled shoes are required; sandals and thin-soled shoes are excluded.[1]

For every course, request an itemised list covering:

  • Workshop tools: what may be shared and whether personal tools are required.
  • Basic materials: whether fillings, webbing and similar supplies are included.
  • Project consumables: what the chosen item needs and whether these incur extra charges.
  • Visible finishes: whether top fabric, piping cord and trims must be bought separately.
  • Personal requirements: clothing, footwear and note-taking or photography equipment.

Compare scheduled hours and availability

Course labels such as leisure, foundation, project and diploma do not show the amount of scheduled classroom time. Compare the number and length of sessions instead.

  • St Albans Foundation: Mondays, 9.30am–4.30pm, for 18 weeks — 126 scheduled hours by arithmetic, although the listing does not say every minute is hands-on tuition.[2]
  • St Albans daytime leisure: Wednesdays or Fridays, 9.30am–1pm, for 18 weeks — 63 scheduled hours by arithmetic.[2]
  • St Albans evening leisure: Monday-to-Thursday options, 7.15pm–9.15pm, for 18 weeks — 36 scheduled hours by arithmetic.[2]
  • St Albans Saturday course: Four mornings, 9.30am–1pm — 14 scheduled hours by arithmetic.[2]

The Foundation cohorts and the listed 18-week leisure classes are marked fully booked. The four-Saturday course is marked as having spaces.[2] The St Albans page shows no publication or last-updated date, so confirm availability before paying.[2]

Read fees and qualification claims carefully

St Albans lists its weekend upholstery format at £295; that figure should not be applied to its other courses.[2] Comparable numeric fees are not shown in the cited Southwark, Oxford or main St Albans foundation, leisure and diploma course information.[1][2][3]

St Albans describes itself as an AMUSF training centre and advertises AMUSF Diploma Stages 1–3.[2] Oxford uses the broader wording “certificated diploma courses” without naming the certificate in the cited material.[3] Formal assessment methods, pass criteria and complete awarding-body details therefore need to be requested for the particular course.

Testimonials and provider statements about confidence, employment or business readiness are not independently verified outcome evidence.[2][3][4][6]

What to confirm with each provider

Southwark directs learners to its Alpha Street workshop entrance through the blue door in the far-left corner when viewed from the car-park entrance, but this is not a loading or storage policy.[1] The cited Southwark, St Albans, Oxford and Find a Craft pages leave some or all of the following booking details unstated [1][2][3][4]; the cited Manorhouse page also omits cancellation and practical arrangements.[6]

  • Project acceptance: written approval, maximum dimensions and weight, and any doorway, stair or workspace restrictions.
  • Schedule: exact dates, session times, tutor-led contact hours and what happens after a missed session.
  • Total cost: tuition, tools, basic materials, project consumables, top fabric, assessment and certification.
  • Transport: parking, loading access and whether help is available for moving furniture.
  • Storage: whether projects can remain between sessions, any charge and responsibility for loss or damage.
  • Unfinished work: collection deadlines, possible charges and whether work may be completed at home.
  • Booking terms: cancellation, transfer, refund and minimum-enrolment conditions.

Choose by project, schedule and course status

  • First drop-in seat or stool: Southwark gives explicit beginner-project guidance and states what tools and basic materials are included.[1]
  • Limited weekly availability: Compare St Albans’ Saturday format with Oxford’s consecutive or split-block attendance, then confirm spaces and total cost.[2][3]
  • Small mixed-ability class: Manorhouse limits its hands-on recreational classes to no more than 10 learners.[6]
  • Unusual or uncertain furniture: The Buckingham workshop assesses a photograph before application and advises how many sessions may be required.[4]
  • Diploma-style study: Compare the exact certificate, awarding status, assessment method and contact time rather than relying on the word diploma alone.[2][3]

Before paying, obtain written project approval, a complete cost-and-material list, and the practical and cancellation terms.

References

  1. southwark.gov.uk (southwark.gov.uk)
  2. Upholstery Courses | St Albans Upholstery School (stalbansupholsteryschool.co.uk)
  3. OSU School of Upholstery (oxfordschoolofupholstery.com)
  4. Upholstery Courses, Classes & Workshops – Find a Craft (findacraft.co.uk)
  5. Upholstery Skills Online | Online Upholstery Courses (upholsteryskillsonline.com)
  6. Manorhouse School of Upholstery (manorhouseupholstery.net)

Looking for something else?

Browse all articles →